Posted in 2022, Author Interview, Felicia

A Million to One | Author Interview | Pride Month

It’s June and that means it’s time for another year of Pride Month spotlights! I’m so excited to spotlight A Million to One by Adiba Jaigirdar and share the interview with the author!

INTERVIEW

Welcome Adiba! Thank you for allowing me to interview you! Can you start off by introducing yourself?

Hi! I’m Adiba Jaigirdar, I’m the author of The Henna Wars, Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating, and now A Million to One. I’m Bangladeshi-Irish, and I live in Dublin, Ireland. Other than writing, my favourite things to do are reading, playing video games, and crocheting. 

How would you describe A Million to One in one sentence?

A Million to One is about four very different girls who board the titanic to steal a rare, jewel-encrusted book called the Rubaiyat, but old rivalries, new romances, and a historic tragedy means that things may not go exactly as planned. 

Can you introduce us to the main character(s) of A Million to One?

There are four main characters and each of them have an important role in the heist. Josefa comes from Spain, and she is both the thief and mastermind of the heist. Violet comes from Croatia and she is the actress. Emilie comes from France (though she was born in Haiti) and she is the artist. And finally, Hinnah comes from India (or modern-day Pakistan) and she is the acrobat. 

Do you know from the beginning how your books will end or do you let your characters decide their journey?

Yes, with all my books I know what end I’m ultimately writing towards even if I don’t always know exactly how the characters will end up there. 

Do you have a favorite scene, moment, or quote from the book?

There are a lot of scenes and moments that I loved writing. Without giving any spoilers, I really liked writing the introductory chapters for each of the main characters, which tells us a little bit about who they are and why they’re drawn to the idea of joining this heist. It was my first time writing four POV characters so it was kind of challenging to get their introductory chapters exactly right in a way that felt authentic but not repetitive or boring. 

What is something readers will find in A Million to One that they may not realize based on the synopsis?

That it’s ultimately a book about people who are a little bit broken and trying to find love, acceptance, and their place in the world. 

What’s something you hope readers will take away from A Million to One?

I hope they take away the message that there are all kinds of love in the world, and it’s not just love and acceptance from family or wider society that matters. 

What are three books you would recommend if someone enjoyed A Million to One?

If readers are interested in another book featuring a fun heist, I’d recommend The Atlas Six by Olivia Blake. If readers want another book set on the Titanic, I recommend Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee. If readers are looking for another historical YA with a sapphic romance, I recommend Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo. 

What’s next for you? Anything you can share?

My next book is another contemporary romance called Donut Fall In Love. It’s about a Bangladeshi-Irish baker called Shireen who joins a reality TV baking competition called the Junior Irish Baking Show, but once there she realises her ex is a competitor, alongside a new girl she may be developing some feelings for. 

ABOUT THE BOOK

TITLE: A Million to One
AUTHOR: Adiba Jaigirdar
RELEASE DATE: December 13, 2022

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Synopsis:

Adiba Jaigirdar, author of one of Time‘s Best YA books of all time, gives Titanic an Ocean’s 8 makeover in a heist for a treasure aboard the infamous ship that sank in the Atlantic many years ago.

A thief. An artist. A acrobat. An actress. While Josefa, Emilie, Hinnah, and Violet seemingly don’t have anything in common, they’re united in one goal: stealing the Rubaiyat, a jewel-encrusted book aboard the RMS Titanic that just might be the golden ticket to solving their problems.

But careless mistakes, old grudges, and new romance threaten to jeopardize everything they’ve worked for and put them in incredible danger when tragedy strikes. While the odds of pulling off the heist are slim, the odds of survival are even slimmer . . .

Perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper and Girl in the Blue Coat, this high-seas heist from the author of The Henna Wars is an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail— the ship sinks.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Adiba Jaigirdar was born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, and has been living in Dublin, Ireland from the age of ten. She has a BA in English and History, and an MA in Postcolonial Studies. She is a contributor for Bookriot. All of her writing is aided by tea, and a healthy dose of Janelle Monáe and Hayley Kiyoko. When not writing, she can be found ranting about the ills of colonialism, playing video games, and expanding her overflowing lipstick collection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s