Posted in 2021, Author Interview, Book Tour, Felicia

The Accidental Apprentice | Author Guest Post | Book Tour

I’m so excited to be a part of the book tour for The Accidental Apprentice by Amanda Foody that is hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. Amanda Foody is doing a guest post on my blog today as well!

Books you would recommend if people loved/enjoyed The Accidental Apprentice.

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston

There is so much to love in this book, and anyone who enjoyed the apprenticeship Exhibition in The Accidental Apprentice will love the exciting plot of this story. That twist! I never saw it coming! 

The Mystwick Academy of Musicraft by Jessica Khoury

This story combines the familiar with novelty in such an interesting way. It’s set in a boarding school for magic… except magic is music! The inner pianist in me adored the musical descriptions. I was originally introduced to this one via audiobook, and its incorporation of sound was one of the coolest I’ve ever read.

Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

Another exhilarating tournament/exam plot! My favorite part about Nevermoor has to be its overall quirky, gloomy vibe, not unlike a magical take on A Series of Unfortunate Events. Barclay can be rather morose himself at times. I think he’d fit in well in this world!

The Adventurer’s Guild by Zack Loran Clark & Nick Eliopulous

This series takes some classic Dungeons & Dragons-inspired concepts and creates vibrant and action-packed world. If you enjoyed the concept of Guilds and other nods to throwback fantasy in The Accidental Apprentice, this should be your next read.

Septimus Heap by Angie Sage

This series is a nostalgic favorite of mine. The Accidental Apprentice was highly inspired by the fantasy stories I loved growing up, and this one ranked high on my list. It has interesting magical mentors—as well as an exciting prophecy!

ABOUT THE BOOK

TITLE: The Accidental Apprentice
AUTHOR: Amanda Foody
GENRE: Middle Grade Fantasy
RELEASE DATE: March 30, 2021

Goodreads Amazon Book Depository | Barnes & Noble IndieBound Indigo

Synopsis:

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Amanda Foody has always considered imagination to be our best attempt at magic. After a double life as an accountant preparing taxes for multinational corporations, she now spends her free time brewing and fermenting foods much more easily obtained at her local grocery store. She lives in Boston, MA with a hoard of books guarded by the most vicious of feline companions, Jelly Bean.

Her books include The Shadow Game seriesand more. Her middle grade debut, Wilderlore: The Accidental Apprentice, hits shelves March 30, 2021, and her next YA novel, All of Us Villains, co-authored with Christine Lynn Herman, releases on November 9, 2021.

Website | Twitter Instagram Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s